Category

History > British

The life of Elizabeth I is a perennially compelling subject, one which each generation of historians must reclaim as their own. The popularity of the Tudors in film, television and fiction has in recent years demonstrated an unwaning enthusiasm for the period and has also given birth to a fresh audience who will welcome an ac... read more

Thumb_9780297871309
$29.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 4

One of our finest narrative historians, and journalist for the SUNDAY TIMES and LITERARY REVIEW, Lawrence James, has written a genuinely new biography of Winston Churchill, set within a fully detailed historical context, but solely focusing on his relationship with the British Empire. As a young army officer in the late 19th ... read more

Thumb_9781780224817
$24.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

From London's inimitable mayor, Boris Johnson, the story of how Churchill's eccentric genius shaped not only his world but our own. On the fiftieth anniversary of Churchill's death, Boris Johnson celebrates the singular brilliance of one of the most important leaders of the twentieth century. Taking on the myths and misconcep... read more

Thumb_9781444783032
$33.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 3

This title is nominated for "Sunday Times", "Daily Telegraph", "TLS", "Financial Times", "Guardian", "Daily Mail" and "Sunday Telegraph" Books Of The Year. "He were a dark prince, and infinitely suspicious, and his times full of secret conspiracies and troubles". (Sir Francis Bacon). In his remarkable debut, Penn vividly recr... read more

Thumb_9780141040530
$24.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

On 5 September 1785, a trial began in Paris that would divide the country, captivate Europe and send the French monarchy tumbling down the slope towards the Revolution. Cardinal Louis de Rohan, scion of one of the most ancient and distinguished families in France, stood accused of forging Marie Antoinette's signature to fraud... read more

Thumb_9781848549982
$40.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

This is the colourful, salacious and sumptuously illustrated story of Covent Garden - the creative heart of Georgian London - from Wolfson Prize-winning author Vic Gatrell. It is shortlisted for the hessell tiltman prize 2014. In the teeming, disordered, and sexually charged square half-mile centred on London's Covent Garden ... read more

Thumb_9780718195830
$24.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Author: Anna Reynolds
Category:

 British

Series:Souvenir Album

Royal Childhood tells the story of life for the younger members of the Royal family. From playing games and dressing-up, to christenings and public outings, this souvenir album reveals what it is like to grow up in a palace. This souvenir album places the palace as the setting for royal childhood, from its acquisition by Geor... read more

Thumb_9781909741119
$25.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

In this astonishing and riveting book, Alison Weir shows that Mary's story had a happy ending and that she was by far the luckiest of the Boleyns.
Mary Boleyn has gone down in history as a 'great and infamous whore'. She was the mistress of two kings, Francois I of France and Henry VIII of England, and sister to Ann... read more

Thumb_9780224093903
$19.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Mary Queen of Scots passed her childhood in France and married the Dauphin to become Queen of France at the age of sixteen. Widowed less than two years later, she returned to Scotland as Queen after an absence of thirteen years. Her life then entered its best known phase: the early struggles with John Knox, and the unruly Sco... read more

Thumb_9780753826546
$28.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

What is Britishness? What allowed one small island group to rule a quarter of the world and, even today, to have the most spoken language after Chinese? What makes Americans admire the guts, traditions and loyalties of these island Anglo-Saxon and Celtic people? What is it that makes cynical Europeans and once-dominated Asian... read more

Thumb_9781845299941
$29.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

To many, medieval castles are the essence of Britain and Ireland's fascinating past. Immersed in history and centuries old, each one tells a story of Kings, Queens and feuding lords; war and bloody conflict; treason, revenge and murder. In Castles of Britain and Ireland, Rodney Castleden weaves a fascinating and detailed narr... read more

Thumb_9781780873244
$30.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Having written enthralling biographies of London and of its great river, the Thames, Peter Ackroyd now turns to England itself. This first volume of six takes us from the time that England was first settled, more than 15,000 years ago, to the death in 1509 of the first Tudor monarch, Henry VII. In it, Ackroyd takes us from Ne... read more

Thumb_9780330544283
$23.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

The acclaimed and enthralling story of the dark side of Elizabethan rule, from Stephen Alford Elizabeth I's reign is known as a golden age, yet to much of Europe she was a 'Jezebel' and heretic who had to be destroyed. The Watchers is a thrilling portrayal of the secret state that sought to protect the Queen; a shadow world o... read more

Thumb_9780141043654
$23.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Full of detail and colour about everyday life in Dickens's London, and leaves you with a sense not only of how hard life was then, but how strange. Even if you've read Dickens and the contemporary historians of the poor, there is still more to marvel at here.' Sebastian Faulks, Mail on Sunday Books of the Year The nineteenth ... read more

Nophoto
$24.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

From the late 19th century, when the Raj was at its height, many of Britain's best and brightest young men went out to India to work as administrators, soldiers and businessmen. With the advent of steam travel and the opening of the Suez Canal, countless young women, suffering at the lack of eligible men in Britain, followed ... read more

Thumb_9780753828960
$22.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Wordsmiths and Warriors explores the heritage of English through the places in Britain that shaped it. It unites the warriors, whose invasions transformed the language, with the poets, scholars, reformers, and others who helped create its character. The book relates a real journey. David and Hilary Crystal drove thousands of ... read more

Thumb_9780199668120
$38.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

A beautifully written and wonderfully evocative volume offering descriptive imagery of rural England; the countryside and its people.

Thumb_9781906509835
$29.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

With the deft, sure eye of master craftsmen, they portray the mellow stone of country towns, spray swept seaside promenades, strolls among sand dunes, Mr Pimpkins the jobbing gardener, roach fishing at dawn, the art of pear growing, and much more to make a book that is lasting pleasure. Above all, The Happy Countryman was HE ... read more

Thumb_9781906509828
$29.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

From the bestselling author of "The English" comes "Empire", Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr. The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of o... read more

Thumb_9780670919598
$22.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

The official inside story of the life, death and remarkable discovery of history's most controversial monarch. On 22 August 1485 Richard III was killed at Bosworth Field, the last king of England to die in battle. His victorious opponent, Henry Tudor (the future Henry VII), went on to found one of our most famous ruling dynas... read more

Thumb_9781848548930
$23.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1
1 - 4 of 4 ← Previous 1 3 4