Category

History > British

This title is nominated for "Sunday Times", "Daily Telegraph", "TLS", "Financial Times", "Guardian", "Daily Mail" and "Sunday Telegraph" Books Of The Year. "He were a dark prince, and infinitely suspicious, and his times full of secret conspiracies and troubles". (Sir Francis Bacon). In his remarkable debut, Penn vividly recr... read more

Thumb_9780141040530
$24.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Behind the facade of politics and pageantry at the Tudor court, there was a family drama. Nothing drove Henry VIII, England's wealthiest and most powerful king, more than producing a legitimate male heir and so perpetuating his dynasty. To that end, he married six wives, became the subject of the most notorious divorce case o... read more

Thumb_9780192840905
$32.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

Elizabeth of York would have ruled England, but for the fact that she was a woman. The eldest daughter of Edward IV, at seventeen she was relegated from pampered princess to bastard fugitive, but the probable murders of her brothers, the Princes in the Tower, left Elizabeth heiress to the royal House of York and, in 1486, Hen... read more

Thumb_9780224097758
$34.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

In the summer of 1889, young Southern belle Florence Maybrick stood trial for the alleged arsenic poisoning of her much older husband, Liverpool cotton merchant James Maybrick. 'The Maybrick Mystery' had all the makings of a sensation: a pretty, flirtatious young girl; resentful, gossiping servants; rumours of gambling and de... read more

Thumb_9781408703915
$33.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

The Fateful Year by Mark Bostridge is the story of England in 1914. War with Germany, so often imagined and predicted, finally broke out when people were least prepared for it. Here, among a crowded cast of unforgettable characters, are suffragettes, armed with axes, destroying works of art, schoolchildren going on strike in ... read more

Thumb_9780670919215
$45.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 2

In this astonishing and riveting book, Alison Weir shows that Mary's story had a happy ending and that she was by far the luckiest of the Boleyns.
Mary Boleyn has gone down in history as a 'great and infamous whore'. She was the mistress of two kings, Francois I of France and Henry VIII of England, and sister to Ann... read more

Thumb_9780224093903
$19.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Mary Queen of Scots passed her childhood in France and married the Dauphin to become Queen of France at the age of sixteen. Widowed less than two years later, she returned to Scotland as Queen after an absence of thirteen years. Her life then entered its best known phase: the early struggles with John Knox, and the unruly Sco... read more

Thumb_9780753826546
$28.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

The seven-year campaign that saved Europe from Napoleon told by those who were there What made Arthur Duke of Wellington the military genius who was never defeated in battle? In the vivid narrative style that is his trademark, Peter Snow recalls how Wellington evolved from a backward, sensitive schoolboy into the aloof but b... read more

Thumb_9781848541047
$25.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

A groundbreaking book, this unprecedented study is the authoritative account of the best-known intelligence organisation in the world.
Essential reading for anyone interested in the history of espionage, the two world wars, modern British government and the conduct of international relations in the first half of the tw... read more

Thumb_9781408810057
$29.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

What is Britishness? What allowed one small island group to rule a quarter of the world and, even today, to have the most spoken language after Chinese? What makes Americans admire the guts, traditions and loyalties of these island Anglo-Saxon and Celtic people? What is it that makes cynical Europeans and once-dominated Asian... read more

Thumb_9781845299941
$29.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

To many, medieval castles are the essence of Britain and Ireland's fascinating past. Immersed in history and centuries old, each one tells a story of Kings, Queens and feuding lords; war and bloody conflict; treason, revenge and murder. In Castles of Britain and Ireland, Rodney Castleden weaves a fascinating and detailed narr... read more

Thumb_9781780873244
$29.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Having written enthralling biographies of London and of its great river, the Thames, Peter Ackroyd now turns to England itself. This first volume of six takes us from the time that England was first settled, more than 15,000 years ago, to the death in 1509 of the first Tudor monarch, Henry VII. In it, Ackroyd takes us from Ne... read more

Thumb_9780330544283
$23.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

The acclaimed and enthralling story of the dark side of Elizabethan rule, from Stephen Alford Elizabeth I's reign is known as a golden age, yet to much of Europe she was a 'Jezebel' and heretic who had to be destroyed. The Watchers is a thrilling portrayal of the secret state that sought to protect the Queen; a shadow world o... read more

Thumb_9780141043654
$23.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Full of detail and colour about everyday life in Dickens's London, and leaves you with a sense not only of how hard life was then, but how strange. Even if you've read Dickens and the contemporary historians of the poor, there is still more to marvel at here.' Sebastian Faulks, Mail on Sunday Books of the Year The nineteenth ... read more

Nophoto
$24.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

From the late 19th century, when the Raj was at its height, many of Britain's best and brightest young men went out to India to work as administrators, soldiers and businessmen. With the advent of steam travel and the opening of the Suez Canal, countless young women, suffering at the lack of eligible men in Britain, followed ... read more

Thumb_9780753828960
$22.99 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

Wordsmiths and Warriors explores the heritage of English through the places in Britain that shaped it. It unites the warriors, whose invasions transformed the language, with the poets, scholars, reformers, and others who helped create its character. The book relates a real journey. David and Hilary Crystal drove thousands of ... read more

Thumb_9780199668120
$38.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

From the bestselling author of "The English" comes "Empire", Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr. The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of o... read more

Thumb_9780670919598
$22.95 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 1

The amazing true story of how London became home to the Russian super-rich. A dazzling tale of incredible wealth, ferocious disputes, beautiful women, private jets, mega-yachts, the world's best footballers -- and chauffeur-driven Range Rovers with tinted windows. A group of buccaneering Russian oligarchs made colossal fortu... read more

Thumb_9780007356379
$25.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

This is the book behind the major new BBC2 series "The Seventies". "If I were a younger man I would emigrate". (James Callaghan)...In the mid-1970s, Britain's fortunes seemed to have reached their lowest point since the Blitz. As inflation rocketed, the pound collapsed and car bombs exploded across London, as Harold Wilson co... read more

Thumb_9781846140327
$45.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0

When Charles I was executed, his son Charles II made it his role to search out retribution, producing the biggest manhunt Britain had ever seen, one that would span Europe and America and would last for thirty years. Men who had once been among the most powerful figures in England ended up on the scaffold, on the run, or in f... read more

Thumb_9780349123769
$25.00 (AUD) inc GST
Available Stock: 0
1 - 20 of 68 ← Previous 1 3 4