What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

Author(s): Will Gompertz

Art

In the tradition of "Eats, Shoots & Leaves," art history with a sense of humor Every year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, "Is this art?" A former director at London's Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art's exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art--and why a five-year-old couldn't really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, "What Are You Looking At"? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they're looking at.

$40.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Will Gompertz writes, presents, and produces programs about the arts for the BBC. He lives in Oxford, England.

General Fields

  • : 9780142180297
  • : Plume Books
  • : Plume Books
  • : September 2013
  • : 221mm X 145mm X 28mm
  • : United States
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 435
  • : black & white illustrations, colour illustrations, figures
  • : Will Gompertz
  • : Paperback / softback
  • : 709