We Shall Inherit the Wind

Author(s): Gunnar Staalesen

Crime

1998. Varg Veum sits by the hospital bedside of his long-term girlfriend Karin, whose life-threatening injuries provide a deeply painful reminder of the mistakes he's made. Investigating the seemingly innocent disappearance of a wind-farm inspector, Varg Veum is thrust into one of the most challenging cases of his career, riddled with conflicts, environmental terrorism, religious fanaticism, unsolved mysteries and dubious business ethics. Then the first body appears - tied to a cross, facing the mouth of the fjord - In a chilling, timeless story of love, revenge and desire - deftly interwoven with contemporary issues, in a stunning plot that will leave you gripped to the final page - We Shall Inherit the Wind shows Staalesen at his most thrilling, thought-provoking best.

$20.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

'The characters in the book are drawn with more nuances and more psychological insight than in most crime novels - there is generally something Ibsenian about this detective novel in which past sins play such an important part in the present' Bergens Tidende 'The Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo 'One of the finest Nordic novelists in the tradition of Henning Mankell' Barry Forshaw, Independent 'Staalesen's mastery of pacing enables him to develop his characters in a leisurely way without sacrificing tension and suspense' Publishers Weekly

One of the fathers of Nordic Noir, Gunnar Staalesen was born in Bergen, Norway in 1947. He made his debut at the age of 22 with Seasons of Innocence and in 1977 he published the first book in the Varg Veum series. He is the author of over 20 titles, which have been published in 24 countries and sold over four million copies. Twelve film adaptations of his Varg Veum crime novels have appeared since 2007, starring the popular Norwegian actor Trond Espen Seim. Staalesen, who has won three Golden Pistols (including the Prize of Honour), lives in Bergen with his wife.

General Fields

  • : 9781910633076
  • : Orenda Books
  • : Orenda Books
  • : May 2015
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Gunnar Staalesen
  • : Paperback
  • : 839.8238
  • : 300