Las Ocho Montañas / the Eight Mountains

Author(s): Paolo Cognetti

Fiction

Con un lenguaje puro y poético, Paolo Cognetti traza un viaje vital, íntimo y universal, en una novela magnética y poderosa que explora lo robusto y lo granítico de las relaciones entre amigos, padres e hijos.

«Sea lo que sea el destino, habita en las montañas que tenemos sobre nuestras cabezas.»

Pietro es un chico de ciudad, solitario y un poco hosco, que veranea en los Alpes italianos. Bruno es hijo de un albañil de la zona, alguien que solo conoce los montes y que pastorea las vacas de su tío. Tienen apenas once años y un mundo entero les separa. Pero, verano tras verano, forjan una profunda amistad mientras Bruno inicia a Pietro en los secretos de la montaña. Juntos exploran y descubren casas abandonadas, glaciares y escarpados senderos hasta que, con los años, sus caminos toman rumbos distintos.

Esa misma naturaleza salvaje es la pasión que mueve al padre de Pietro, un hombre envuelto en la melancolía de una Milán gris que solo puede abandonar durante los veranos. La montaña se convierte entonces en el mejor lenguaje para comunicarse con su hijo, un legado que solo el tiempo conseguirá poner en valor.

Galardonada con los premios Strega en Italia y Médicis como mejor novela extranjera en Francia, Las ocho montañas es un fenómeno literario europeo destinado a convertirse en un clásico sobre la búsqueda constante de nuestra identidad.

ENGLISH DESCRIPTION

"A fine book, a rich, achingly painful story that is made for all of us who have ever felt a hunger for the mountains. Few books have so accurately described the way stony heights can define one's sense of joy and rightness. And it is an exquisite unfolding of the deep way humans may love one another." --Annie Proulx

For fans of Elena Ferrante, Fredrik Backman, and Paulo Coelho comes the international sensation about the friendship between two young Italian boys from different backgrounds and how their incredibly strong connection evolves, changes, and challenges them throughout their lives.

Pietro is a lonely boy living in Milan. With his parents becoming more distant each day, the only thing the family shares is their love for the Dolomites, the mountains that hug the northeastern border of Italy.

While on vacation at the foot of the mountains, Pietro meets Bruno, an adventurous, spirited local boy. Together they spend many summers exploring the mountain's meadows and peaks and discover the similarities and differences in their lives, their backgrounds, and their futures. The two boys come to find the true meaning of friendship and camaraderie, even as their divergent paths in life-- Bruno's in the mountains, Pietro's in cosmopolitan cities across the world--test the strength and meaning of their connection.

A modern Italian masterpiece, The Eight Mountains is a lyrical coming-of-age story about the power of male friendships and the enduring bond between fathers and sons. "There are no more universal themes than those of the landscape, friendship, and becoming adults, and Cognetti's writing becomes classical (and elegant) to best tell this story...a true novel by a great writer" (Rolling Stone Italia).

$35.00(AUD)

Available Stock:
0

Order this Item


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

General Fields

  • : 9788439734123
  • : Penguin Random House Grupo Editorial
  • : Literatura Random House
  • : June 2018
  • : .83 Inches X 5.3 Inches X 9.04 Inches
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paolo Cognetti
  • : Paperback
  • : Spanish
  • : 240