The Levant Trilogy

Author(s): Olivia Manning


As Rommel advances in wartorn Egypt, the lives of the civilian population come under threat. One such couple are Guy and Harriet Pringle who have escaped the war in Europe only to find the conflict once more on their doorstep, providing a volatile backdrop to their own personal battles.

The civilian world meets the military through the figure of Simon Boulderstone, a young army officer who will witness the tragedy and tension of war on the frontier at first hand.

An outstanding author of wartime fiction, Olivia Manning brilliantly evokes here the world of the Levant - Egypt, Jerusalem and Syria - with perception and subtlety, humour and humanity.

    The classic World War II trilogy:
  • The Danger Tree
  • The Battle Lost and Won
  • The Sum of Things


Available Stock:

Order this Item

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

A classic war novel reissued in Phoenix paperback for the first time Just as appealing today. For readers of novelists such as Pat Barker and Sebastian Faulks Great new cover look Was screened on TV as a major series, The Fortunes of War, starring Kenneth Branagh and Emma Thompson

Olivia Manning was the author of more than twelve novels including The Balkan Trilogy, The Doves of Venus, The Playroom and the Remarkable Expedition. She was awarded the CBE in 1976 and died in 1980.

General Fields

  • : 9780753808184
  • : Orion Publishing Group, Limited
  • : Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • : August 2003
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 37mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2005
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Olivia Manning
  • : Paperback
  • : English
  • : 823.914
  • : 592